可愛い

I’ve met up with Mustafa Horasan, a great artist I’ve been following for some time now, in Istanbul, where he is also part-time teacher in graphic design. He showed me some of his pupils designs and made me show mine. Afterwards, I met up with them for an art-exhibition opening which was rather bad and uninspired, except for the works of the assistent at the university, who invited us. After that we went for some beers, and ended up discussing graphic design for the rest of the evening. You know you’re passionate about design if you’re still discussing typography after 4 beers.

I’ve also met up with Nakyung again, the illustrator I’ve met in London at the very beginning of my trip, so I guess the circle is completed. The funny thing is that we didn’t know about eachothers wereabouts untill 2 days before she arrived in Istanbul, so it was great to see her again.

From the 25th of may ’till the end of my trip, I’ll be in Belgrade, to report on the design week over there for VICE, and of course to try to meet some good designers, and ask them some questions concerning my trip and experiences. I’ll keep you updated on that.

I’m also still planning on meeting up with Tugce Ozocak, an friend of mine from Istanbul, and student at the fashion academy in Antwerp. She’ll be here working on her final collection here in Istanbul in the next few days, so I hope she’ll have some time for me. I’m also still planning on meeting Mustafa again in his workshop, and maybe do some work together with his students. We’ll see. So much to do, and so little time…

And Istanbul? Well, Istanbul, it’s amazing. Can’t grasp it yet at the moment, I think I will need some time to reflect before I can write about it.

Leave a comment